Oh Lord, the teeth...

j photogj photog Registered Users Posts: 124 Major grins
edited February 28, 2007 in Finishing School
So I'm not a photoshop pro...as of late.
I use 7.0...yep. Elements, people.
I'm not all upgraded and all that jazz.
I am pretty good at getting a nice complexion on a person who doesn't have such. But I am really bad at teeth! :D I've shot some pretty yeller ones these last few days. What is the best way to do this naturally? And bear with me. As I stated, I'm not a super pro at the photoshop tricks.
Anything you can suggest will help.

Thanks.
art is life

Comments

• imann08imann08 Registered Users Posts: 67 Big grins
    edited February 19, 2007
    I'll give you a few general guidelines for teeth. Don't know whether or not it will help but here it goes. First, teeth shouldn't be totally white. They should always be off white at best. Second, if the teeth in your image are too yellow, that usually means that everything else that is as light as the teeth are also too yellow. There is also a good chance that a good portion of the rest of your image is also too yellow. If not, then that means the teeth are in fact the right color.

The best way to change the color is with curves. I'll assume that you are in RGB. Open a curves adjustment layer with the half black, half white circle at the bottom of the layers palette. Ctrl+3 to go to the blue curve. Ctrl+Click on one of the teeth best representing your problem and that will put a point on the curve at the point in the blue range that your teeth reside. Use the up arrow to raise that point until the value of the RGB are all more similar. Before you make the selection the blue will be much less than the other two.

This will of course alter the rest of your image but as I said, it probably suffers from the same problems as your teeth do. Learning curves is a good idea to make the best corrections in your photos.
  • imann08imann08 Registered Users Posts: 67 Big grins
    edited February 19, 2007