My 24-105L's sharpness test

wellmanwellman Registered Users Posts: 961 Major grins
edited February 27, 2007 in Cameras
OK, I know I might be about to lose the respect of a few people whom I respect. These are the people who say "don't measurebate; just shoot." Please understand that I am an engineer and therefore genetically predisposed to testing things, often for no good reason. I just can't help myself.

With that in mind, I ask you take a look and comment on the sharpness of my new baby, a 24-105L. I'm mostly looking for peace of mind, I suppose. I know that no one but me can decide whether I'm happy with a lens, but there are folks with orders of magnitude (see, told you I wan an engineer) more experience and perspective than me. Plus, this is the first time I've ever plunked down $1k for a lens, and the cheapskate in me says it better be good.

Linked below are side-by-side-by-side 100% crops at f/4, 5.6, and 8 for identical shots at 24, 50, and 105mm. All shots are ISO 100 and tripod-mounted, with the IS off. These shots are unsharpened and come from RAWs.

For some perspective on the effect of unsharpened images, I'm also including a sharpened/unsharpened combo image of my 85/1.8 at f/5 - the sharpest thing I have.

24mm: http://wellman.smugmug.com/photos/131872749-O.jpg
50mm: http://wellman.smugmug.com/photos/131872805-O.jpg
105mm: http://wellman.smugmug.com/photos/131872861-O.jpg
85/1.8 sharp/unsharp: http://wellman.smugmug.com/photos/131872933-O.jpg
Whole gallery, with originals: http://wellman.smugmug.com/gallery/2511531

So, please put my mind at ease or get me all tworked up - your call. :D And forgive me my inability to suppress that inner nerd. :wink

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,078 moderator
    edited February 24, 2007
    It looks like the f4 images could use some USM, but that's not unusual. There is still plenty of edge definition to make sharp images, not that these are far from the mark.