Flash technique

TylerWTylerW Registered Users Posts: 428 Major grins
edited March 4, 2007 in Technique
I'm predominantly a natural light shooter, but I've got an event coming up next week thats in a very dark club. While I've got some fast glass on reserve, I figure since I've got to deliver, I should start getting some flash technique down. I started playing this weekend, and this is about as far as I was hoping to get, and this was just after a day of tests - which to me means I can take it a lot farther. Any help for a complete novice flash lighting user would be greatly appreciated.

This is all done using a 580 ex flash unit, mostly bouncing off the ceiling and using the diffuser cup. Plans are in the works to build the better bounce card later this week. camera settings were manual, so were the flash settings.

132347842-M-2.jpg

132349051-L-1.jpg

132349431-L-2.jpg
http://www.tylerwinegarner.com

Canon 40d | Canon 17-40 f/4L | Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 | Canon 50mm f/1.8 | Canon 70-200mm f/4 L

Comments

• dogwooddogwood Registered Users Posts: 2,572 Major grins
    edited February 27, 2007
    I've found ETTL on Canon strobes to be pretty accurate for this type of situation. I'd use manual on my strobe only if I had created guide numbers and was willing to estimate shooting distances.

The very best strobe modifier I've used is similar to the better bounce card but uses "fun foam" available at craft stores. If you search "fun foam" on the lighting forum over at dpreview you'll find hundreds of posts about making and using this diffuser. Best of all, you don't need a bracket or off-camera shoe cord or ceiling to bounce light off and you won't get red eye and it works just as well in portrait or landscape mode.

Here's an example:
    74345798.jpg

Portland, Oregon Photographer Pete Springer
    website blog instagram facebook g+

• TylerWTylerW Registered Users Posts: 428 Major grins
    edited February 27, 2007