New here and need some help esp. with close-up portraits ...

inetsupergrrlinetsupergrrl Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited March 14, 2007 in Technique
Hi Everyone! I'm happy to have found you guys ... I've really enjoyed the candid and helpful advice I've found here and now hope I can be the direct beneficient of such good advice!

I have a Fuji Fine Pix S2 Pro, a Nikon SB-80 flash and a Nikkor 28-200mm lens.

I am a psuedo portrait photographer ... by that I mean, I do it for friends and family and have amazingly gotten some good shots, but it all relies on instinct and my camera on auto. I'm like a musician playing music by ear, but I can't read a note. Not a REAL musician. (I read your advice to the noob to manual post and will try it myself!)

What I'm being called upon to do now though, is not working for me at all using my typical lazy-man techniques. I need to be able to take beautiful up-close baby pics. You know, tiny feet, little faces ... that sort of thing. I can set up the shot, light is great, positioning works, everything is lovely ... and then I grow more and more frustrated because I cannot get close enough to the subject.

1) IF my current lens is sufficient, it probably needs to be on manual, but I can't figure out how to get it to let me use the focus ring. The instructions on this lens is woefully lacking - assuming a lot more knowledge then I have!

2) DO I need another lens, a macro one? If so, I wouldn't want to spend more then $300 or so ... can anyone recommend a good one? I think my cam takes all Nikon lenses, or G-rings (does that make sense? I don't talk photography very well).

I'd really appreciate it if you would talked down to me and set me straight on this!

Thanks so much!
inetsupergrrl :)

Comments

• JangieJangie Registered Users Posts: 9 Beginner grinner
    edited March 10, 2007
    I'm just a beginner in photography, and have even less knowledge about your particular photography equipment.