first telephoto portraits...my hand hurts.

urbanariesurbanaries Registered Users Posts: 2,690 Major grins
edited March 11, 2007 in People
Now, I am probably just being a wienie, but this shoot made me feel like I was a newbie all over again. The weight definitely affected my reflexes, and slowed down my decision process enough that I questioned every move. I couldn't decide what my aperture and shutter speed should be, for some reason, so I was in full auto a lot, which I hate.

I always thought I had a decent eye for action, but with the 70-200 I look through it and feel blind. Any feedback and suggestions would be much appreciated. I have a wedding in 3 weeks!!!

These are the best out of about 150. Had trouble getting anything sharp. Obviously the wide open ones are softer, but I think there has to be some user error in there.

Cropping and contrast boost are the only modifications thus far.

Be blunt.

1. f2.8, 200mm, 1/500th, iso 400
134758579-L.jpg

2. f5.0, 200mm, 1/500th, iso 360
134760006-L.jpg

3. f 2.8, 200mm, 1/250th, iso 400
134759932-L.jpg

4. f2.8, 77mm, 1/500th, iso400
134760096-L.jpg

5. f2.8, 70mm, 1/200th, iso 400
134759969-L.jpg

(And yeah, this is my little Harry, he'll be two this month!!!)
Canon 5D MkI
50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 24-70 2.8L, 35mm 1.4L, 135mm f2L
ST-E2 Transmitter + (3) 580 EXII + radio poppers

Comments

• SystemSystem Registered Users Posts: 8,186 moderator
    edited March 9, 2007
    What focus mode were you using?
  • urbanariesurbanaries Registered Users Posts: 2,690 Major grins
    edited March 9, 2007
    truth wrote:
    What focus mode were you using?

AI Focus, but i think full auto restricts to One Shot? Didn't pay attention.
    Canon 5D MkI
  • kini62kini62 Registered Users Posts: 441 Major grins
    edited March 9, 2007
    Nice colors etc.....

But they do all seem soft.

Try AI servo and center point focus.