Soccer

ozandrewozandrew Registered Users Posts: 8 Beginner grinner
edited March 13, 2007 in Sports
Hey everyone,

This is my first attempt at shooting first grade soccer, they were pretty darn quick with the ball. I am having a lot of trouble with focusing and getting clear crisp shots. Maybe I should ditch the circular polarizing filter who knows. Your comments and criticism (and advice) are requested!

1. EOS 300D, 300mm f/4 Lens w/Haze Filter (Non-IS) - 1/4000s, f/4, ISO 400.

135279598-O.jpg

2. Settings as above...

135279696-O.jpg

3. EOS 30D & 70-200 f/2.8 w/Cir-Pol (Non-IS) - 1/1250, f/2.8, ISO 200, 135mm

135279796-O.jpg

4. Same settings/gear as photos 1 & 2...

135279887-O.jpg

5. As above...

135279996-O.jpg

Comments

• gusgus Registered Users Posts: 16,209 Major grins
    edited March 11, 2007
    Nice action series andrew thumb.gif
  • John PatrickJohn Patrick Registered Users Posts: 52 Big grins
    edited March 12, 2007
    ozandrew wrote:
    Hey everyone,

This is my first attempt at shooting first grade soccer, they were pretty darn quick with the ball. I am having a lot of trouble with focusing and getting clear crisp shots. Maybe I should ditch the circular polarizing filter who knows. Your comments and criticism (and advice) are requested!

Fantastic lens, but this shot is too soft for my taste; probably a focus issue, as I don't believe that the 300D has AI-Servo, which is what you need for soccer.

I couldn't grab EXIF data, but it seems as if this shot may have some major JPEG artifacting going on. What did you use to down-size it for posting? (BTW, all of them as a bit too big as it is.) I think you're going to have to increase the quality of the downsize at the expense of bandwidth to keep the quality.

And why the ISO 400? ISO 200 would have been fine on this.