Options

My niece at Moomba

KattKatt Registered Users Posts: 30 Big grins
edited March 15, 2007 in People
This is my 2 year old niece Samantha and my 11 year old nephew Sean. I took them both out for a day at the Moomba Festival in Melbourne, Australia. (Moomba an Aboriginal word that means: Let's get together and have fun).

135103415-M.jpg

135103412-M.jpg

Still an absolute beginner with photography. Just now learning to fiddle with Aperture.

Comments

• Options
    bauermanbauerman Registered Users Posts: 452 Major grins
    edited March 13, 2007
    I think that these are nice candid captures! I like the tight cropping on the first one and there is nothing wrong with getting a little ice cream on the face on a hot day. There are maybe a few blown highlights in that first one, but you almost had to do that to get a proper exposure "under the hat" so the speak.

I like the off center composition on the second one......and it is a pretty even exposure as well. These look to be taken around mid-day, when shadows are pretty harsh - so considering the less than optimal shooting circumstances - it looks to me like you did a fine job.

Thanks for sharing these....
    Perhaps the greatest social service that can be rendered by anybody to this country and to mankind is to bring up a family. - George Bernard Shaw
  • Options
    edited March 14, 2007
    bauerman wrote:
    I think that these are nice candid captures! I like the tight cropping on the first one and there is nothing wrong with getting a little ice cream on the face on a hot day. There are maybe a few blown highlights in that first one, but you almost had to do that to get a proper exposure "under the hat" so the speak.

I like the off center composition on the second one......and it is a pretty even exposure as well. These look to be taken around mid-day, when shadows are pretty harsh - so considering the less than optimal shooting circumstances - it looks to me like you did a fine job.