Newbie Question - Sharing Subset of a Gallery

chriscchrisc Registered Users Posts: 21 Big grins
edited March 17, 2007 in SmugMug Support
Hi,

I'm new to smugmug, and I have been trying to figure something out. I searched and checked the help pages, so maybe what I am trying to do is not possible (yet).

What I would like to do is share only a subset of photos in a galler (or multiple galleries).

What I would like to do is set up a share that basically allows me to pick and choose photos from one or more galleries, generate a URL for those images, then give that URL to friends/family to look at a photo set.

I do not want to share the whole gallery.

One way that I have found out how to do this is to make a new blank gallery, then go into my other galleries and duplicate images from those galleries, then copy the duplicates into the new gallery which I will share.

This seems a real clunky way to do it, and copying the photos seems to waste server space.

This feature is available on shutterfly to some extent, where you can create a share, select images from multiple albums to incude in the share, then generate a URL to send out that contains a new (logical) album that people can view, watch a slideshow of, etc.

Is this possible at this time with smugmug? Any plans for it in the future?

Comments

• AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited March 15, 2007
    chrisc wrote:
    Hi,

I'm new to smugmug, and I have been trying to figure something out. I searched and checked the help pages, so maybe what I am trying to do is not possible (yet).

What I would like to do is share only a subset of photos in a galler (or multiple galleries).

What I would like to do is set up a share that basically allows me to pick and choose photos from one or more galleries, generate a URL for those images, then give that URL to friends/family to look at a photo set.

I do not want to share the whole gallery.