Nikon gossip

jenna16jenna16 Registered Users Posts: 30 Big grins
edited March 19, 2007 in Cameras
Hi,

I just bought a Nikon D40. I'm not a professional, but I wanted better shutter time and adjustable aperture, so it suits my needs just fine. I have 10 days to return, and I'm trying to find gossip online about potential price drops or new releases, but I can't seem to find anything good. Any insights? I did some online pricing and I think I did ok.

Thanks,
Jenna

Comments

• SeymoreSeymore Banned Posts: 1,539 Major grins
    edited March 18, 2007
    Nothing like that. I have heard that there is a D40x around the corner. But that's the extent of my ears/eyes...
  • Lee MasseyLee Massey Registered Users Posts: 274 Major grins
    edited March 19, 2007
    Hi Jenna,

You might see a small decrease in the D40 as the D40x is rolled out but I would not expect it to be to substantial.

Sorry I couldn't offer more advice, but good luck on your purchase. :D

Thanks,

Lee
  • ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,078 moderator
    edited March 19, 2007
    Hi Jenna and welcome to the Digital Grin.

If you bought the camera as an investment, I have to advise you that they make poor investments, except as photographic tools.

You really need not explore your purchase anymore, rather you need to be out taking photos with it. You may find that another camera will better suit your needs later down the road, but "you" will have progressed in your capabilities and "that improvement" (in you) should be the driving force in your next camera purchase.

The only thing I would like to point out is that the Nikon D40 really does represent a fairly major change for Nikon in that it is the first Nikon dSLR that will not support autofocus lenses that don't have a built-in autofocus motor. This impacts a fair number of Nikon lenses, and many third-party lenses.

A fairly complete list of lenses which "will" work properly on the D40 appear here: