Options

fiddling with HDR stuff

com3com3 Registered Users Posts: 423 Major grins
edited August 17, 2007 in Technique
just learned the concept a few days ago...and so i'm just learning it right now...

seems that the photos tend to have a washed out feel to em, but overall, it's a neat artsy thing, methinks... i took these over the last 2 days.

thoughts? care to share yours?

today:

137537212-L.jpg

137531580-L.jpg

137535408-L.jpg

yesterday:

137380741-L.jpg

137360404-L.jpg

137380144-L.jpg

the galleries with even more are here: http://4theriders.smugmug.com/gallery/2607214 and here: http://4theriders.smugmug.com/gallery/2604205

Comments

• Options
    thebigskythebigsky Registered Users Posts: 1,052 Major grins
    edited March 21, 2007
    I think you've done well, like you say HDR images to seem to come out inherently flat and a little lifeless, I think you need to try boosting the contrast particularly on your bike shots. Your 2nd and 3rd shots work best for me.

I think the most successful HDR's are those which are not obviously HDR.

I've tried to use HDR in the past as a substitute for ND grad filters but have had little success.

Charlie
  • Options
    ericgtrericgtr Registered Users Posts: 105 Major grins
    edited March 21, 2007
    I think you have done an excellent job, these are just right IMO not too over done (which is easy to do) and tasteful, just the right amount. I am too just learning with this, a tend to lean more towards night photography, a few of my HDR's can be seen here http://ericgtr.smugmug.com/gallery/2554432#137190934
  • Options
    simmosimmo Registered Users Posts: 18 Big grins
    edited March 21, 2007
    Hi everyone, relatively new here, nice to meet you all.

I've had a dabble with HDR over the past few months and I find it quite appealing sometimes but some people go crazy and use it when its not really adding anything to the photo.