Options

New Smugmug site critique please

JimWJimW Registered Users Posts: 333 Major grins
edited March 25, 2007 in Mind Your Own Business
I'm fairly new to the online world, and would be grateful for some critiques of my new smugmug site. As I am switching careers into photography, the purpose of the site was to have a place to send prospective customers to view some of my work. If you have the time, please take a look and give me your thoughts and criticisms. All comments are welcome on any aspect of the site.

Thank you very much - Jim

I don't want the cheese, I just want to get out of the trap.

http://www.jimwhitakerphotography.com/

Comments

• Options
    SloYerRollSloYerRoll Registered Users Posts: 2,788 Major grins
    edited March 22, 2007
    Hey Jim,

I really like your high key portraits. Nice work.

Please take the following in a way of constructive criticisim. I'm not a pro, but if I was looking for a photog and they told me to go to this site. These are the reasons I'd say. "eh"

You cover a broad gammut of photography.
    Real estate, and conceptual (alternative) are very specific photography disciplines.
    I would recommend narrowing down the types of photography you display on your site. This way you are a photographer that specializes in certain fields. It's easier to make maintain profitablilty when you are an expert at one thing rather than very good at allot of things. You can charge a premium and still get business (still takes allot of marketing though).

It also seems like you have a few galleries mixed up a bit. I go to angels and see maternity. I go to alternative and see angels and a few more like this. I recommend a clear seperation between galleries, even if it requires you making custom galleries to do so.

Your banner pictures don't lend well to the black background.