What to do with overcast sky?

anderivanderiv Registered Users Posts: 80 Big grins
edited March 28, 2007 in Finishing School
My wife and I were out and about in Minneapolis yesterday evening, and I got a chance to take a few pictures from the observation deck of the Mill City Museum, which overlooks St. Anthony Falls on the Mississippi. It was a hazy, overcast day to begin with...not optimal shooting conditions.

Take this picture:
138469708-M.jpg

I pulled it into PS, fixed the tilt of the picture, and set the black and white points. Obviously, I couldn't be as aggressive with setting the white point as I normally am, as the sky would blow out quite easily. This is the best I could come up with:

138469323-M.jpg

It's better than the original, but still not great. Would the next step be to mask off the overcast sky and then perform further adjustments on the rest of the picture?

I'm just starting to learn about post-processing, so I could use some pointers on this. Thanks!
Erik Anderson
http://andersonfam.org
http://andersonfam.smugmug.com
D70 | SB-600 | Nifty Fifty | Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 | Nikon 70-300 f/4-5.6G

Comments

• slapshotslapshot Registered Users Posts: 104 Major grins
    edited March 25, 2007
    Have you thought about converting this to black & white? I think this photo would look very nice in BW.

I don't think there is much else you can do with the sky. If you mask it and make substantial changes to the sky, it will probably start looking un-natural vs the rest of the shot. You may want to consider cropping the photo to take away some of the sky.

Also could probably use more local contrast to get some "pop"
  • DavidTODavidTO Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited March 25, 2007
    First, the bad news. What to do about the sky? Don't shoot a picture that features so much boring sky. ne_nau.gif.

And you've got a big goober in the upper left quadrant.