Options

Do I have to pay to shoot an Event?

photowozphotowoz Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
edited March 28, 2007 in Mind Your Own Business
Ok.

I shoot freelance for a mag. I've been shooting SCORE Off-Road Events for about 10 years. I cover every race in Mexico that they have. Including the Baja 1000. I also upload my extra pics to my smugmug account. This way some of the racers I know can see themselves and occasionally buy a print.

Now.... I'm being told that SCORE (The event organizer) wants me to pay a licensing fee to shoot their events. I'm a bit shocked by this, but as far as I know, they have no leg to stand on to enforce this. Am I missing something?

It's a public event. I am in a public place when I shoot. What else do I need?

I don't think selling a print of a guy (racer) back to him (photo of himself) can be considered commercial. Can it?

Comments

• Options
    JeffroJeffro Registered Users Posts: 1,941 Major grins
    edited March 27, 2007
    photowoz wrote:
    Now.... I'm being told that SCORE (The event organizer) wants me to pay a licensing fee to shoot their events.

Who's telling you this?
    photowoz wrote:
    I don't think selling a print of a guy (racer) back to him (photo of himself) can be considered commercial. Can it?

I call it ART. It would most definately be commercial if you tried to sell an image for advertising or product use without the person in the photos permission. SCORE would also have rights, I'm guessing here, if any of thier logos were in the photos sold for those reasons.

I don't worry about it. I think of it this way, if they let you take your camera into an event, they have no say so where I "show my photos to my friends."
    Always lurking, sometimes participating. :D
  • Options
    AngeloAngelo Super Moderators Posts: 8,937 moderator
    edited March 28, 2007
    photowoz wrote:
    Ok.