Options

Photoshop memory confusion

lynnmalynnma Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 5,207 Major grins
edited February 20, 2004 in Finishing School
Hi, this may be the very place to solve this very annoying thing. I recently put a new hard drive in my dell (melted the old one) and re installed my ps 6. I have a 60gig hard drive with 45gig left free, and in ps I have 353878K of physical memory available and I've allocated 86% of that to ps. So why is it so slow to process, specially when I'm working with text as I am now, it never used to be like this.. driving me nuts. Going from one layer to another when creating a graphic with text in it seems to take forever.. any ideas? AND, I'm not sure what they mean by scratch disks, my first is "startup" second is C:/ and third and fourth are none. Is this what they should be?
Sorry to be so dumb.. I'm all self taught so huge lumps of info missing.
Lynn:dunno

Comments

• Options
    DoctorItDoctorIt Administrators Posts: 11,951 moderator
    edited February 19, 2004
    lynn, your talking about speed. 60gb hard drive is nice, but means nothing to speed unless your working with files that are bigger than 60gb ... if you catch my drift.
    :D
    If you have a slow processor and MOST importantly not a lot of RAM, PS is going to run slowly. I would guess for PS6 to run "quickly" with the size of the files coming out of your Drebel, you want at least 256mb of RAM.

RAM is essentially quick access memory, or "working" memory. So therefore, when working with large image files, its the size of this working memory that is the limiting factor. Make sense?
    Erik
    moderator of: The Flea Market [ guidelines ]

• Options
    edited February 19, 2004
    lynnma wrote:
    AND, I'm not sure what they mean by scratch disks, my first is "startup" second is C:/ and third and fourth are none. Is this what they should be?
    Sorry to be so dumb.. I'm all self taught so huge lumps of info missing.
    Lynnne_nau.gif