Color help and "autocolor" limits

Shane422Shane422 Registered Users Posts: 460 Major grins
edited April 8, 2007 in SmugMug Support
I'm new to smugmug, but not to dgrin. I joined smugmug to more easily make prints available to people I take portraits for. Today my first smugmug "customer" ( i.e. I don't charge) got her prints and was unhappy with the color. I have a monitor calibrated with a Pantone Huey, but I still think my pics are a bit red. But I was hoping autocolor would fix my inability to hit the color just right. I would normally think the problem was all me, but she did have a few printed at Walmart and they were fine.

So how does the color look off to you? and should the "autocolor" option have been able to correct it.

139651341-S.jpg
139649224-S.jpg

And an attempt at fixing the color using the "pleasing skintones" tutorial. Which is obviously better, but why did the Walmart print come out fine?
141698039-S.jpg

Comments

• AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited April 7, 2007
    Shane, Auto has it's limits. Your shot is very very red. Our Auto is some of the best out there, but it can't overcome such levels of red.

http://smugmug.jot.com/WikiHome/PrintingAutoOrTrueColor

I can't speak for Walmart - they might go more agressive in correcting for this - but there's a price to pay, in other color areas.

Your edit is much better.
  • Shane422Shane422 Registered Users Posts: 460 Major grins
    edited April 7, 2007