Options

Pinup style pink

schmooschmoo Registered Users Posts: 8,468 Major grins
edited April 11, 2007 in People
Many of my girlfriends are quite into the retro-pinup look, and there is a pretty decent industry for photographers of this type. But since I am still pretty new to shooting people I thought i would give it a go and one of my good friends was willing to help me out and be my model. Constructive criticism is always welcome, especially with this learning curve.

The first one is slightly naughty:
142109431-L.jpg

142109395-L.jpg

142109482-L.jpg

From what I've been told, there are many more usable "props" and vintage settings out west, but around my neck o' the woods you have to make do with what ya got.

Thanks for looking!

Comments

• Options
    dogwooddogwood Registered Users Posts: 2,572 Major grins
    edited April 9, 2007
    Not quite sure what makes these photos "pinups". They're nice photos, just don't seem to fall into that pinup category... ie Gil Elvgrin or Vargas or some of the other classic pinup artists.

It's actually quite difficult to shoot pinup style photos-- pinup artists sketch their pinups and aren't limited by gravity or impossible posing by models!

Just an idea, but you want to be much more overt about the sexiness of pinup photos-- pinups are almost always blatantly sexy. I would suggest you try to 'copy' some of your fav pinup sketches. Don't worry-- there's no way you'll get them exactly right and it's almost certain you'll put your own spin on things so you aren't really copying... it's more for inspiration.

I've tried some pinup photos myself and most of it isn't very good! The really successful pinup photographers will literally spend days creating and styling sets and lighting.

Portland, Oregon Photographer Pete Springer
    website blog instagram facebook g+

• Options
    edited April 9, 2007