Advice needed - very large group shot

frgfrg Registered Users Posts: 583 Major grins
edited April 18, 2007 in Technique
I've been asked to do my daughters "Father Daughter" camp group pictures next month....

Scenario

Outdoors , pretty wide/flat area
around 10:00 AM in the morning
around 100 people -(50 Dads and 50 12 year old daughters)

I've got a 17-50 tamron f2.8 on a D70

I'm not too bad at individual portraits but I have never done a group of more than 5 or 6 before.......Any advice on how to pose such a large group , camera settings etc, would be very much appreciated........

Comments

• Annie222Annie222 Registered Users Posts: 69 Big grins
    edited April 17, 2007
    I am no professional but just recently was asked to take a school group photo of the schools dance a thon - lots of difference sized kids dressed up and the only way I could get the whole school in (its a very small school only 100 children) was to take the photo from the balcony (I was probably 2 metres from ground) with the kids looking up at me it seemed to work and the school really liked it. A thought maybe !
  • AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited April 17, 2007
    frg wrote:
    I've been asked to do my daughters "Father Daughter" camp group pictures next month....

Read this whole post:
    http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=13671

thumb.gif
  • frgfrg Registered Users Posts: 583 Major grins
    edited April 17, 2007
    Thanks Annie, there is actually a balcony I can shoot from

Andy, great thread, I'm only halfway through but already its given me some ideas on how to group etc.

Thanks, can't wait to try it all outwings.gif
  • joshhuntnmjoshhuntnm Registered Users Posts: 1,924 Major grins
    edited April 17, 2007