Location, Location & Currency Rates

skydognzskydognz Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
edited April 23, 2007 in SmugMug Support
:D Right, i must admit i'm totally new to this, however, for the last month i have sat patiently and searched, crawled, fought and explored the dark deep depths of the internet looking for the ultimate professional online photo site to host my images - AND be prepared to pay for it!

Finally, after weeks of trawling the net, i have found SmugMug!!! And right up till about an hour ago, I was almost prepared to even look at trialing the site; with possibly looking at forking out cash to afford a PRO option site to sell my images. I mean; this site absolutely rocks!!!! and i love it's layout, it's easy of use, searching, personalising, (love the idea of having my own SITE and my own NAME on it too!!). BUT.....there is always a but.....

Am i a professional photographer??? (Does this exist anymore???) NOT in any sense of the word! No Way! I'm purely an ameteur; someone who loves and has a passion for photography who wants to show the world my images; and sell a few as well :)

I live (and was born and breed) here in New Zealand. I'm a kiwi, I'm a kiwi who is about to explore and travel the world! capture images of it and put them (hopefully!!!) onto a SMUGMUG site; for the world, my friends and my family too to look at; and if possible; buy. BUT!!!!.....

2 things came to me in wanting the perfect photo selling website.

a). For my customers to pay for their images in THEIR currency. Not one unique US currency. (have you seen the exchange rates????????????)

b). For my customers to know; that their images are actually being printed and posted from within their own countries! Therefore they pay postage for their country. For example; it would cost me nomore than $2-$3 NZ Dollars to post photos to a friend from one end of New Zealand to the other; after i had been down to my local Photo Lab in my town to print them.