First time shooting at 3x -creep you out warning!!

DalantechDalantech Registered Users Posts: 1,519 Major grins
edited April 21, 2007 in Holy Macro
After I started shooting at 2x Mark Plonsky told me that I needed to go up to 3x -always pushing me, but it's a good thing ;)

I think it's time to start saving up my lunch money for the MPE-65 -it would have to be easier than shooting with a 100mm macro, 1.4TC, and 62mm of extension tubes...

Creep you out warning because the next photos after this one are gonna be spiders...

145295958-L.jpg

If you look closely you can see the red tipped fangs on this next one...

145296517-L.jpg

145298776-L.jpg

145296373-L.jpg

There not as sharp as I like them. Not sure if it's diffraction from shooting at F11 or movement (me and them due to the wind). I'll have a better idea tomorrow cause I plan on shooting ants at 3x out at the farm.
My SmugMug Gallery

Looking for tips on macro photography? Check out my Blog: No Cropping Zone.

Comments

• Lord VetinariLord Vetinari Registered Users Posts: 15,901 Major grins
    edited April 20, 2007
    Love the fly- must be a horse fly of some type- spider shots are good but are a bit soft . I'd try shooting at F8 or larger next time at 3:1- I have to do that with my MPE-65 to prevent diffaction softening.
    Brian V.
  • DalantechDalantech Registered Users Posts: 1,519 Major grins
    edited April 20, 2007
    Love the fly- must be a horse fly of some type- spider shots are good but are a bit soft . I'd try shooting at F8 or larger next time at 3:1- I have to do that with my MPE-65 to prevent diffaction softening.
    Brian V.

Thanks Brian! I'll give that a try tomorrow with the ants.
    My SmugMug Gallery

• Awais YaqubAwais Yaqub Registered Users Posts: 10,572 Major grins
    edited April 20, 2007
    eek7.gif
    Do you have Kevlar jacket ? or some kind of iron sheilds on you when shooting these ? headscratch.gif

Beautiful mwink.gif