First wedding

dlscott56dlscott56 Registered Users Posts: 1,324 Major grins
edited June 30, 2007 in Technique
I've been asked to take some photos for my brother-in-laws wedding in June. They know that my only qualification is that I own a decent camera, but want me to do it anyway!

I've never done this before and am not sure where to start, or even what to ask. Tips on this kind of photography, preparation, types of shots to take, etc, would really be appreciated.

Thanks.

Comments

• Photo GuyPhoto Guy Registered Users Posts: 32 Big grins
    edited April 21, 2007
    I took some photos of my sister's wedding in November of last year. Very stressful since I'd never done it before but it was a lot of fun.

What type of camera do you have? Make sure if this is an indoor wedding, that if you have to boost your ISO, your camera handles the boost well as far as grain is concerned.

Just off the top of my head this is what I did:

1) Where will the wedding be? Indoors? Outdoors? If outdoors, what time of day? If indoors is it a church? If it is a church, you'll need to talk to the person officiating the wedding to find out what is allowed as far as flashes, etc.

2) Go to the rehearsal the evening before the wedding so you can get an idea of what the ceremony will be like. You want to watch closely to see different angles you can shoot from. Take plenty of practice shots and review them on a computer so you can see how they look and if you're happy with the depth of field, framing, etc.

3) How many people in the wedding party? This is very important because sometimes the larger the wedding party, the more formals you'll need to take. Where will the formals be taken? Also find out from the B&G if there are any formal photos they'd like with people NOT in the wedding party. Make a printed list you can have with you on the day of the wedding to make sure you get all the formals you need.