First steps in the digital darkroom?

Deke in AkDeke in Ak Registered Users Posts: 14 Big grins
edited April 23, 2007 in Finishing School
After much hesitation (price shock) I pulled the trigger and got a Nikon D200. I already have an assortment of D lenses to use. I also got an SB400 flash to use for a little fill and have an SB26 flash.

Computerwise, I have a MacBook with 2 gig ram and Aperture and I intend to add a desktop Mac in the near future, all with the intent for using this stuff primarily for digital work.

Now what I am asking is what other software etc do I need? I would like to do some image manipulation as well as cropping. What about B&W, I shoot B&W film in medium and large formats, but the projects that I intend to do don't always allow me to carry all the stuff I would like to, hence I am hoping to produce some fine quality B&W images with this new gear.

Please keep in mind that I am an absolute Noob with digital photography.

Thanks Much, Dennis

Comments

• Deke in AkDeke in Ak Registered Users Posts: 14 Big grins
    edited April 22, 2007
    Did I say something wrong?
    I was only hoping that someone would point me in the right direction software-wise to make a success of digital photography.

I really don't know about editing. Do I need(?) Photoshop or Elements or????? What software would make life easier?

Thanks, Dennis
  • gmonkehgmonkeh Registered Users Posts: 312 Major grins
    edited April 22, 2007
    Well first thing you need to learn is proper exposure. All the Photoshops in the world won't help you if you don't have a good image to begin with.

And please, please, don't ever get in the "I'll fix it in post" mindset.

Also remember to keep your shutter speeds above the focal length you're using (handheld), and you'll have consistently sharp images.

As for your question, Adobe Lightroom seems to be a good choice if you don't plan to do any advanced retouching stuff.

Alex