Options

Yet another entry into my deluge of amateurish photography attemps...

gmonkehgmonkeh Registered Users Posts: 312 Major grins
edited April 23, 2007 in People
I'm trying my amateurish best to find the best way to process skin. What do you guys think of this one? I used the degrunge technique (HighPass + Blur) with a little added twist of my own.

77607487.jpg

:barb:barb:barb
http://www.reverbphotography.com
Nikon D300
Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D
Tamron 28-75 f/2.8
Nikkor 80-200 AF-D ED f/2.8
2 Alien Bees AB800
Nikon Speedlight SB800
Elinchrome Skyport Triggers

Comments

• Options
    SystemSystem Registered Users Posts: 8,186 moderator
    edited April 23, 2007
    I like it, but I'm no expert re skin/tone-

like the composition too-

and she's very pretty-
  • Options
    Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited April 23, 2007
    I am no expert on this stuff, but I do know a problem when I see it. In the PPed image, her skin has the texture I associate with orange peels. And, the texture is not uniform, but not in a way I would expect. It's strong in some places where I would expect to see it much smoother. Also, I see some color blotchiness in her skin tones, especially long her right cheek.

Overall, the texturing needs to be diminished quite a bit.

On the plus side, you did a really nice job of maintaining the light/shadow features, especially along her right cheekbone.

I think you have a really good start, it just needs some refinement.
  • Options
    urbanariesurbanaries Registered Users Posts: 2,690 Major grins
    edited April 23, 2007
    i agree with scott, the pebbly texture is strange, and the blur edges along the forehead are too obvious. other than that I think the colors are better in the edited shot. you're pretty close. I love the shot!!! another successful shot of the "one eye love" :D
    Canon 5D MkI
    50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 24-70 2.8L, 35mm 1.4L, 135mm f2L