Monitor Color?

djsilver666666djsilver666666 Registered Users Posts: 77 Big grins
edited April 24, 2007 in Finishing School
Last weekend (21 to 22) I was at a soccer tournament taking pictures of the team I am an assistant coach on. I can easily take 200 to 300 pictures a game and my card only holds 487 so I download them to my laptop between games. I was going through them on the way home, and I liked the lighting, color, etc :D . But when I transferred them to my desktop comp to edit and what-not the pictures seemed a tad over green. This troubles me because if my monitor is off I can't really edit them to look nice, because they will turn out blue-red-ish.
Is their something I can do?

Comments

• jfriendjfriend Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
    edited April 23, 2007
    You need to calibrate your monitors
    Last weekend (21 to 22) I was at a soccer tournament taking pictures of the team I am an assistant coach on. I can easily take 200 to 300 pictures a game and my card only holds 487 so I download them to my laptop between games. I was going through them on the way home, and I liked the lighting, color, etc :D . But when I transferred them to my desktop comp to edit and what-not the pictures seemed a tad over green. This troubles me because if my monitor is off I can't really edit them to look nice, because they will turn out blue-red-ish.
    Is their something I can do?

The solution is to calibrate all your monitors to a known standard. This should make them look the same as each other and allow you to create images with a predicatable look on other calibrated monitors. There are a number of software/hardware products that can be used to calibrate monitors. Note: to really do it right, you need a hardware-based device that can accurately measure the output of your monitor and then instruct the software how to calibrate your monitor to match a standard.