Options

Andy says architectural photography is boring...

wxwaxwxwax Registered Users Posts: 15,471 Major grins
edited April 30, 2007 in Landscapes
... and much of the time, I agree with him. I mean, it's a building, for crying out loud. No soul, no life, it's totally inanimate.

So why do I find myself wanting to photograph buildings? It's not like I'm a student of architecture, not even a buff. But something about certain structures strikes me, and I cave in.

Only to find out that Andy's right. I bring the shots home, and they're boring. Sometimes pretty, but rarely interesting.

Does that stop me? Hell no.

There's this tower called Bank of America Plaza in Atlanta. Not exactly a memorable name, I had to look it up. But it's a cool looking building. Turns out it's also Altanta's tallest, like five miles high or something.

Last fall, while walking to Georgia Tech football games from our parking lot, I noticed that a road on campus kind of framed the building. I filed it away as a potential shot when the light was right. In this case, sunset.

Today I decided to make my first attempt at getting the shot. I wasn't sure when the golden light would be, and what the shadows on the road would be like. So I hung around for close to an hour. And the darned road filled up with traffic. Some kind of show on campus, street parking filled up, everybody was in my way.

Don't they know I'm shooting a building!!??

So anyway, I had to stop shooting before the true gold light fell. Turns out that here, today, it was at 8pm. I stopped at around 7:45pm or so (no, I haven't set my camera's clock, so there.)

I had the 24-105. If I go back, I'm going to bring the 200, the 300 and the 1.4 extender. And a tripod.

So anyway, with a heavy dose of curves and cropping, here's my first version of Bank of America Plaza, Atlanta.

147707912-L.jpg
Sid.
Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittam
http://www.mcneel.com/users/jb/foghorn/ill_shut_up.au