New to dgrin - and HDR. Feedback please...

mbx777mbx777 Registered Users Posts: 6 Beginner grinner
edited May 17, 2007 in Technique
Hi everyone,

I'm a new grinner, and I'm relatively new to HDR. I've experimented with HDR over the last few months and would like to get some feedback, both on examples which should be realistic (i.e. not obviously HDR, like the first example below) as well as some examples where I used HDR to deliberately create a surrealistic impression (like the second image below).

151998209-M.jpg

152007206-M.jpg

The examples are from two of my smugmug galleries. Please have a look and let me know what you think.

Thanks,
--michael

Comments

• RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,954 moderator
    edited May 14, 2007
    Hi Michael and welcome to Dgrin. wave.gif I don't see the images in your post. This is probably because you have not enabled external links in the Smugmug gallery. You can do that in the Customize Gallery page.

Cheers,
  • mbx777mbx777 Registered Users Posts: 6 Beginner grinner
    edited May 14, 2007
    rsinmadrid wrote:
    Hi Michael and welcome to Dgrin. wave.gif I don't see the images in your post. This is probably because you have not enabled external links in the Smugmug gallery. You can do that in the Customize Gallery page.

Cheers,

Thanks for the welcome, rsinmadrid! And thanks for the hint with my smugmug config. Will do in the future. For now I solved it...

--michael
  • rhommelrhommel Registered Users Posts: 306 Major grins
    edited May 14, 2007
    Nice HDRs!
    there's nothing much to say on the 1st image except good job!

I like the sky on the 2nd image, You can probably accentuate it more using the high pass filter in photoshop.. what you can do is create a duplicate layer for the clouds and apply the high pass filter, then you can either change the layer mode to Overlay, soft or hard light :)
    mbx777 wrote:
    Hi everyone,