JPEG Format/Corruption Question

djlindjlin Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited May 20, 2007 in SmugMug Support
Hi. I am relatively new to SmugMug so apologies if this a question that has been addresed in the past - I've searched the forum and could not find the answer.

I am struggling with an issue with the SmugMug jpg format. When I move a SmugMug generated jpg photo to my RAZR phone (just plug the phone into the computer with a USB cable, save the SmugMug photo (S size) to my hard drive, and drag it into my phone's file system), the phone's picture viewer can't render the jpg file on the phone screen and complains that it is somehow corrupt. I've also noticed that my older version of Quicktime Picture Viewer on my PC also can't render the SmugMug jpg files. When I try to do the same thing with, for example, a Flickr generated jpg photo, my cell phone is able to render their generated jpg on the phone screen.

I've noticed that if I take the SmugMug jpg photo, bring it into MS Paint and resave it as another jpg photo - that newly saved photo does render on the phone screen. The MS Paint rendered jpg photo is about half the size of the original SmugMug jpg photo. Do you know what the issue might be in terms of the jpg formats?

Thanks

Comments

• luke_churchluke_church Registered Users Posts: 507 Major grins
    edited May 20, 2007
    djlin wrote:
    I've noticed that if I take the SmugMug jpg photo, bring it into MS Paint and resave it as another jpg photo - that newly saved photo does render on the phone screen. The MS Paint rendered jpg photo is about half the size of the original SmugMug jpg photo. Do you know what the issue might be in terms of the jpg formats?

Frankly, (IMHO) the issue is likely to be that Quicktime and your phone don't implement the JPEG standard properly.