Love of post processing

ruttrutt Registered Users Posts: 6,511 Major grins
edited June 8, 2007 in Finishing School
I love post processing. I loved the darkroom when I was in high school and college. Now I love photoshop. But I also totally agree with this statement of Gus about the images. Garbage in, garbage out. Nothing is more fun for me than working on a great picture. I've invested a lot in learning this stuff. I'm a nerd and I like understanding technical things down to a very deep level. It's not for everyone and I have a lot of sympathy for people who don't want to know. I used to help Ginger a lot and it made me feel really good when I could help her get what she was after.

I am a professional programmer and went to grad school in computer science 30 years ago. I've always worked on cpu design, compilers, and performance. Now I wish I'd worked on graphics and computational photography. What I'd really love to do is figure out some way for people who are just interested in taking nice pictures to be able to get the kind of results Dan Margulis can get just by pushing a button. A sort of super I2E. It's proven to be an elusive goal. The more I learned about what the guys like Dan can do, the more I realized how hard it would be to automate.

There is room in the world for both darkroom rats and pure photographers. They might even have the same goals and standards for the end product.
If not now, when?

Comments

• CathieTCathieT Registered Users Posts: 56 Big grins
    edited June 2, 2007
    Isn't that the truth! I love the term darkroom rat (even if it is digital and all some of us have ever known.)

Edit:

As my avatar says, I am very new to dgrin, and I just went in search of the Ginger of whom you spoke.

What I found was a wonderful photographic legacy of a person who meant a lot to many, many people in the "family" which I am now finding Smugmug/Dgrin to be.

My condolences to all her friends and family.
    Cheers,
    Cathie

My Smugallery