Options

Gymnastics with the Canon 85mm f1.8 Lens

windozewindoze Registered Users Posts: 2,830 Major grins
edited February 14, 2005 in Sports
i really enjoyed my sony 828, but one of the things i was never NEVER able to do was to take a decent image of my son during a gymnastics competition. The lighting in at these events simply "sucks". You cant use a flash and i refuse to lug around a tripod. Finally after thousands of images of my other children im finally able to post my oldest son ( he will only let me take a picture of him during gymnastics ). Taken in Las Vegas ( the team took 6th ). im still learning how to use the 20D...... im trying to get accustomed to different lenses.... but for a first time out with a new lens - I LIKE IT!!!
15800704-M.jpg

Comments

• Options
    ian408ian408 Administrators Posts: 21,911 moderator
    edited February 13, 2005
    Nice capture! The 85 seems to do pretty well in those low light situations.
    Might have to investigate :D

This image could benefit with cropping. Hope you don't mind but I took a
    stab at it.
    Moderator Journeys/Sports/Big Picture :: Need some help with dgrin?
  • Options
    Ann McRaeAnn McRae Registered Users Posts: 4,584 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2005
    Troy

You, Steve and me - all 828 to 20d sports photog converts!
    I love my 85mm as well. I wonder if you could also make use of the 135mm f2. It would give you more reach and still be fast. I think I'd like to add it by next winters indoor soccer season.

Good stuff, and congrats to the team.

ann
  • Options
    BBonesBBones Registered Users Posts: 580 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2005
    Add one more convert in 2 weeks. 828 to 20D w/ 70-200 IS L f/2.8
  • Options
    wingerwinger Registered Users Posts: 694 Major grins
    edited February 14, 2005
    BBones wrote:
    Add one more convert in 2 weeks. 828 to 20D w/ 70-200 IS L f/2.8