sports shooting help

pepperellpepperell Registered Users Posts: 12 Big grins
edited June 19, 2007 in Sports
i'm just learning how to shoot ultimate frisbee. i've played the sport for years but am now trying to snap pictures while i'm on the sidelines. at least i can get up close and personal to the game.

i'm slowly getting the knack of predicting the action on the field. here are some shots i got yesterday at a tournament. the white balance seems like it's a bit off and the pics look a touch hazy. i'm wondering what might have caused this.

any other critiques and/or suggestions welcomed.

163841836-M.jpg
163841836#163841836

http://pepperell.smugmug.com/gallery/3016861

3016861#163841836

Comments

• aktseaktse Registered Users Posts: 1,928 Major grins
    edited June 18, 2007
    You caught some nice moments, but I think the exposure is off. It looks like you shot during the full harsh sunlight and things seem to be on the over-exposed side with the highlights blown out.

Is there any reason why you're shooting ISO 400 in full sun? Were these post-processed?

This is a thread about softball, but I think it will apply:
    http://dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=60009
    You also might do some searches for football.

In general, a good sports photo share some elements -- faces in focus, clean backgrounds (DOF), quality images (exposure) and good editing.

This captures some of the elements:
    163842338-S.jpg

It woudl be better if the crop was tighter. Was this one taken later in the day?
  • Scotty_RScotty_R Registered Users Posts: 108 Major grins
    edited June 18, 2007