Help! I heard you guys were brutally honest!

babylemkebabylemke Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited June 22, 2007 in The Dgrin Challenges
I'd like some feedback on my photos... I'll take anything you've got! I'd like to know what would make these pix better, and ultimately, which one I should enter in the Joy/Sorrow contest.

I'm a beginner photographer that - knowing the next contest was "sorrow" - was smart enough to bring my camera to my son's well baby appointment because I knew he'd be getting shots! How horrible is THAT? Please - no "bad mommy" comments! :nono I already feel sheepish enough!:rolleyes

Thanks in advance for your feedback!:bow

164706668-M.jpg
164706894-M.jpg

164707297-M.jpg

Comments

• eoren1eoren1 Registered Users Posts: 2,391 Major grins
    edited June 21, 2007
    Nice job with these. I like the first the best. He looks so small on the table and you did a good job catching the bandaid. I'm not crazy about the sepia tone. Try black and white instead and see how that does. Might need a slight rotation and tiny bit of crop on either side.
    E
  • StrikeslipStrikeslip Registered Users Posts: 102 Major grins
    edited June 22, 2007
    Hi,

I like the first one best, it does a nice job of showing the environment. I would crop the left to the wire on the instrument holder and crop off half the empty space on the right. I think it's also important to use the entire 800 pixels allowed on the long dimension of your entry.

Maybe you could recover some highlights?
  • pyroPrints.compyroPrints.com Registered Users Posts: 1,383 Major grins
    edited June 22, 2007
    I personally like #2. But I'm not crazy about your sepia. On my screen it looks almost purplish. I would suggest trying a couple different kinds of Sepia or B&W conversions.
    pyroPrints.com (my little t-shirt shop)
    pyroPrints.com/5819572 The Photo Section
  • LiquidAirLiquidAir Registered Users Posts: 1,751 Major grins
    edited June 22, 2007