Seeking landscape tips

TerrenceTerrence Registered Users Posts: 477 Major grins
edited July 9, 2007 in Technique
I'm new to landscapes and am used to shooting very tight bird shots. I just bought a Tokina 12-24 for the upcoming Glacier National Shootout and I want to train for the big event.

Learning what hyperfocal distance and how to set it properly seems like an important technique to master.

I'm looking for practical tips or lessons to help me get used to ultra-wide angle shooting, rather than my usual fumbling around and hoping for good results.

Anyone able to give me a nudge in the right direction?
Terrence

My photos

"The future is an illusion, but a damned handy one." - David Allen

Comments

• jdryan3jdryan3 Registered Users Posts: 1,353 Major grins
    edited July 8, 2007
    Shooting landscapes almost always requires a tripod. You will shoot at f/8 or higher to get good DOF, so you will need long(er) shutter speeds. The best contrast is early or late in the day, so your exposure range can easily exceed 5 stops between light and shadows. So bracketing comes into play - another reason for a tripod. Given this wide latitude, seriously look at least at a 3-stop graduated ND filter, expecially if bracketing won't be possible.

Take your time. Good composition, while always important, seems especially critical in landscapes. Maybe because 'anyone' can (and does) take a picture of a landscape, the quality needs to be higher. People seem to be more forgiving of moving nature shots (birds, lions, kids) because the photog has less control over those subjects. Don't forget the rule of thirds!

Look for opportunities for introducing scale and/or perspective, especially ones people haven't seen before. On my trip to the North Rim, the California Condors were out. I got several shots, but missed some opportunities to show them in comparison to the canyon. They either are in the sky, or look like crows.