Need Advice: D80?

kitvankitvan Registered Users Posts: 243 Major grins
edited July 16, 2007 in Cameras
Hello everyone, newbie here.

I'm a beginner and I've been looking at the Nikon D200 with a 18-200mm Zoom Nikkor lens, but this setup is a bit out of my price range. Considering that I have no prior experience with DSLRs, is the D80 (w/the same lens) a good place to start?

Am I going to be missing any crucial functionality with the D80 that the D200 would provide? Or should I be looking at other manufacturer's comparably-priced alternatives? (i.e. Canon...)
:scratch

thanks in advance!

KitVan
"Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."

Comments

• flyingdutchieflyingdutchie Registered Users Posts: 1,286 Major grins
    edited July 13, 2007
    kitvan wrote:
    Hello everyone, newbie here.

I'm a beginner and I've been looking at the Nikon D200 with a 18-200mm Zoom Nikkor lens, but this setup is a bit out of my price range. Considering that I have no prior experience with DSLRs, is the D80 (w/the same lens) a good place to start?

Am I going to be missing any crucial functionality with the D80 that the D200 would provide? Or should I be looking at other manufacturer's comparably-priced alternatives? (i.e. Canon...)
    headscratch.gif

thanks in advance!

KitVan

Especially because you're starting with a DSLR, you can not go wrong with the D80. Of course, the D200 is more 'snappier', has a few more features, etc. It all depends on your budget. I would consider the D40/D40x as well, unless you need a camera with a focus-screw (D40 can not do auto-focus on lenses without a internal focus motor (AF lenses)).

Note that I own a D200, not a D80.
    I can't grasp the notion of time.

When I hear the earth will melt into the sun,
    in two billion years,
    all I can think is:
        "Will that be on a Monday?"
    ==========================
    http://www.streetsofboston.com
    http://blog.antonspaans.com