Selective Coloring

windozewindoze Registered Users Posts: 2,830 Major grins
edited July 18, 2007 in Finishing School
1st of all im new to this - never exclusively used CS2 before for all my editing but im now using it!
i know there are a lot of ways to accomplish the same task and this seems to apply to doing things in photoshop as well.
regarding selective coloring: i know that i could copy my background layer, and then "just" desaturate the duplicated layer and using a mask bring back some color. I could instead though apply an adjustment layer with hue / saturation, bring the saturation down to zero and with "clipping" to only affect the copy. in both scenarios i dont touch the original image. Even if i made some mistakes describing the process ( im talking off the top of my head ) would these two procedures yield the same effect?

excuse my ignorance - just trying to learn more!

troy

Comments

• nikosnikos Registered Users Posts: 216 Major grins
    edited July 18, 2007
    Simplest non-destructive version:
    1. add a Gradient Map adjustment layer and select the black & white box in the drop down menu.

2. click on the adjustment layer's layer mask thumbnail and then choose a soft black brush to paint back in the color that you want.

Nikos
  • RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,954 moderator
    edited July 18, 2007
    windoze wrote:
    1st of all im new to this - never exclusively used CS2 before for all my editing but im now using it!
    i know there are a lot of ways to accomplish the same task and this seems to apply to doing things in photoshop as well.