Want more of your metadata available in Aperture?

Phil U.Phil U. Registered Users Posts: 1,330 Major grins
edited July 20, 2007 in Finishing School
...such as lens info or other items? I stumbled across this thread some time ago where there was some work being done with Applescript using Exiftool to import additional metadata into Aperture. I adapted my own version which you can see lower in that thread and I will regurgitate it here:

First off, let me say that before doing this, I had done NO work in Applescript or Automator. I've done plenty in other scripting languages but in these I'm a complete newbie. This was a good exercise for me because I'd wanted to play with them but just hadn't "gotten around to it".

What I have works very much like what Allan has been doing - since it's based in part on his code. You still have to go into the scripts and select what tags you want. You still have to tell it where your library is. So on and so on. See the scripts themselves for more details on what you need to do. The bits you have to modify are right at the top.

There are two files in the download: A standalone Applescript for existing photos in the library and an Automator workflow in order to import new photos and do the custom metadata work at the same time. You can use this workflow as a basis for your own import workflow or incorporate it into an existing workflow if you have one.

I added a couple things that I wanted to have. It has the ability to write your copyright string into the original file (for new files using the Automator workflow - not for existing masters in the database) and/or into the "Copyright Notice" tag in Aperture. It will use the year from the modified date of the master inserted into the copyright string. You can configure that in the scripts.