Silly Question or Being Really Safe????

AngelaineAngelaine Registered Users Posts: 10 Big grins
edited July 22, 2007 in SmugMug Support
I am new to SmugMug and little by little have been uploading my digital pictures--not super great---but wonderful memories for me. My question is this. Do most people who store their photographs on SmugMug still back them up on a flash drive or somewhere else, too, just to be on the safe side? I was thinking that I would delete my photographs from my hard drive and just have them on SmugMug, but would you suggest that I still back them up somewhere else, also, just to be on the really safe side? Thanks so much for any and all advice.:dunno
Elaine
There are always flowers for those who want to see them ~ Matisse

Comments

• gusgus Registered Users Posts: 16,209 Major grins
    edited July 22, 2007
    I trust smugmug. Some people do like to keep their raw files but i dont.
  • W.W. WebsterW.W. Webster Registered Users Posts: 3,204 Major grins
    edited July 22, 2007
    gus wrote:
    I trust smugmug.
    So do I, but I wouldn't rely on anyone else to be the sole backup for my images - that's my responsibility. For me, SmugMug is just a place to display some of my work.

I back up all my RAWs to CD-ROMs which are stored off-site, and also my developed and undeveloped image files to an external drive kept disconnected from both my computer and the power supply when not actually in the process of backing up (done at least daily).

Call me super-conservative, but 40 years in the IT game has taught me a thing or two! nod.gif
  • RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,955 moderator
    edited July 22, 2007
    Angelaine wrote:
    Do most people who store their photographs on SmugMug still back them up on a flash drive or somewhere else, too, just to be on the safe side? ne_nau.gif