Digital Camera Settings vs Specfic Film Types

samsplacesamsplace Registered Users Posts: 144 Major grins
edited July 26, 2007 in Cameras
Hi

I was reviewing my camera settings on my digitial rebel XT. I found camera settings for Velvia slide film look, portrait,cloudy day,and B&W suggested settings. I am new to photograph of any type digital or film, as fare as the technical aspects.

My question is "are their any other digital camera settings that can be related to film types such as Velvia?":dunno

I have tried velvia both on my camera and in the raw processing of my digital images down loaded to my computer. The images appear to look good both in the printed format and on my compute.

Gil
Take Nothing But Memories:rofl
Kill Nothing But Time :clap
Leave Nothing But Footprints :thumb

http://www.samsplacephotos.com

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,078 moderator
    edited July 24, 2007
    samsplace wrote:
    Hi

I was reviewing my camera settings on my digitial rebel XT. I found camera settings for Velvia slide film look, portrait,cloudy day,and B&W suggested settings. I am new to photograph of any type digital or film, as fare as the technical aspects.

My question is "are their any other digital camera settings that can be related to film types such as Velvia?"ne_nau.gif

I have tried velvia both on my camera and in the raw processing of my digital images down loaded to my computer. The images appear to look good both in the printed format and on my compute.

Gil

Digital imagers and film have no direct correlation to each other. They are completely different technologies. Any similarity in appearance between the two is because someone decided that a particular quality or trait could be identified in the film counterpart, and mimicked or simulated in digital.