Nighttime sports shooters: Advice please

HarveyMushmanHarveyMushman Registered Users Posts: 550 Major grins
edited July 31, 2007 in Sports
I've got another flat track motorcycle race coming up this Saturday evening. The race is at night, under lights. The last time I shot one of these races I used the flash for fill lighting in the fading early evening light, which worked well. But once the sunlight was truly gone I was lost. My results were terrible. I have very little experience with flash shooting and I didn't have a manual for the flash unit I was using so I probably didn't set it up correctly. I have a manual now but does anyone have any tips?

I use a SB-800 flash and a Nikon D70, which has a flash-synch of 1/500, although I'd rather shoot at a slower speed, say 1/320 or 1/250 (while panning). Lens will be Nikon's 70-200/2.8.
Tim

Comments

• sirsloopsirsloop Registered Users Posts: 866 Major grins
    edited July 24, 2007
    I personally don't like night time flash racing shots. It doesn't look right, usually cause of the range. The flash at that range just makes it look like you shot a spotlight on the car. IDK what focal range you find yourself at the most, but a fast prime and ISO 1600-3200 would be my choice. Shoot manual, and raw, and underexpose the photos a touch if you are finding yourself low on shutter speed. Also, tracks usually are not lit evenly. Find a good angle on a bright spot and shoot cars there.
  • mercphotomercphoto Registered Users Posts: 4,550 Major grins
    edited July 24, 2007