Questions of a beginner - PTGui and Bibble

AttilaAttila Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited July 30, 2007 in Technique
Please help an inexperienced amateur photographer who - to make matters worse - is an absolute beginner in the field of panoramic photography, but crazy enough to enter this special arena.

I have decided to use PTGui for panoramic pictures. I would appreciate your initial suggestions.

Facts: I have Nikon D200 and Manfrotto 055CLB tripod. I am waiting for a Nodal Ninja 3 head, and a 50 mm f/1.8 D AF Nikkor lens. (Most probably I will start with a shorter lens and then gradually move toward longer lenses and higher resolutions.) From among the available raw converters I use Bibble Pro.

As far as I know in the case of panoramic pictures the camera should be used with fixed WB, ISO and aperture. Auto-bracketing can be used only for the exposure time to facilitate HDR, but in a consistent way for all pictures. :clap First question: How many and how big exposure steps would you suggest for bracketing? I know this depends on the particular scene. The point is whether to use, in general, a series of 3 shots with 1EV distance, or 5 shots with ½ EV, etc. (D200 allows the user to bracket up to 9 shots, but exploiting this maximum would certainly be a silly idea in terms of shooting and processing time, possible ghosting, disk space, etc.)

I intend to take the pictures in portrait mode. :clap Second question: Is it enough the have an overlay of 1/3 of the width of the pictures? Could I reduce the distortion by applying ½ or even bigger overlay, or this would drive PTGui crazy – even if we forget other drawbacks of taking a hell a lot of pictures for a moment?