stepping up to PhotoShop C3 - need Lightroom too?

macmacmacmac Registered Users Posts: 165 Major grins
edited July 30, 2007 in Finishing School
I have been shooting a Canon 30D for about 2 yrs now. I have been using Canon ZoomBrowzer for basic browzing and organization. I have been using Canon Digital Photo Professional for white balance, batch processing of RAW, etc and Corel PaintShop Pro for artistic processing.

I am planning to move up to Photoshop and was wondering if Lightroom is a good compliment to Photoshop or does Photoshop do all that is needed for workflow.

Thanks for you thoughts on this.
Joe

www.joemcdowellphotography.com
www.joemcdowellphotography.blogspot.com

Canon 30D, EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM, EF 28-135mm 3.5-5.6 IS USM, EF-S 10-20mm f/3.5-4.5 USM, EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM, EF 75-300mm 4-5.6 III USM

Comments

• ian408ian408 Administrators Posts: 21,934 moderator
    edited July 29, 2007
    You don't need LR if you've got CS3. You might want it for those times a quick edit is all that's required or if you like the way it works for browsing.
    Moderator Journeys/Sports/Big Picture :: Need some help with dgrin?
  • macmacmacmac Registered Users Posts: 165 Major grins
    edited July 29, 2007
    Thanks for the reply. That may save me some $.

In addition to processing, Photoshop is good for organizing and classifing?
    Thanks.
    Joe

Canon 30D, EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM, EF 28-135mm 3.5-5.6 IS USM, EF-S 10-20mm f/3.5-4.5 USM, EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM, EF 75-300mm 4-5.6 III USM
    edited July 29, 2007
    Photoshop has a tool called Bridge that is good at that. Some people prefer it to LR and others prefer tools like PhotoMechanic.
  • arodneyarodney Registered Users Posts: 2,005 Major grins
    edited July 29, 2007
    macmac wrote: