Options

PHOTOSHOP vs JPEG

christiechristie Registered Users Posts: 31 Big grins
edited August 9, 2007 in Finishing School
Hi
I am just starting out and have a question about my files.

First, can photoshop documents be uploaded to smugmug or just jpegs?

the reason I ask is because I am having trouble when i convert from my RAW file to jpeg. The raw file starts out so huge and after I do save as JPEG (clicking on the 12 for maximun quality/largest size) my jpeg file is still only 2.3 MB.

Do you think this is high enough quality for clients to get good quality enlargements?

I'm also worried because I am preparing a CD for a client today and I'm worried about giving her a cd of images that are so small. but I don't know how else to make them any larger.

My friend gave me a CD of jpegs that were all 6MB and I asked her what she did and she said she shoots in raw and does the same conversion that I do so I don't understand why my files are so much smaller.

If anyone can help me out I'd really appreciate it!
Thanks
Christie

Comments

• Options
    jayjay Registered Users Posts: 64 Big grins
    edited August 8, 2007
    i know photobucket will only accept giff and jpeg just save the psd image as a jpeg and upload to your image hosting site or resize straight from photoshopp
    jm photography
  • Options
    edited August 8, 2007
    Hi
    smugmug is my hosting site. I just found out they only accept jpeg files. so is there a way to make my jpegs larger when converting from Raw? is 2MB high enough quality to make enlargements?
  • Options
    AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited August 8, 2007
    christie wrote:
    Hi
    smugmug is my hosting site. I just found out they only accept jpeg files. so is there a way to make my jpegs larger when converting from Raw? is 2MB high enough quality to make enlargements?
    What RAW converter do you use? ear.gif
  • Options
    edited August 8, 2007
    yes try this screenshotpseq1.jpg