Options

Workflow and settings - RAW - Bridge

drcarldrcarl Registered Users Posts: 104 Major grins
edited August 15, 2007 in SmugMug Support
Warm greetings to all awesome fellow Smuggers.

OK...(so much to learn, first a little history)...a friend gave me a nice Canon 10D. The price was right, yet I needed a lens. Upselling myself along the way (you know how it goes; I was initially thinking a Sigma for $200) I finally "settled" on a Canon L Series 24-105 US IS zoom because it is "optically excellent." With the 580 EX Flash, and an off-camera cord (and other toys) I am happy with this set-up, for now.

I've been shooting for a few decades. I love imagry. I love computers. I love Photoshop. I write "too long" e-mails and posts. Oh, well.

Here's my situation: The more I learn, the less I like how I have captured and processed my earlier images. For fun (and for spec and for art) I'll be shooting same Native American dancers this weekend. I want to start shooting ~everything~ RAW, but fear all the settings and have not figured-out a reasonable workflow. Right now it takes me WAY too long to process shots and, well, even after reading a LOT here (OMG), I just don't have my mind wrapped around the all details yet. I must have some sort of plan if I will be shooting upwards of 1000 images and don't want to sequester myself for a week sorting and PP-ing.

I've tried to teach myself everything I need to know by reading here for something like 24 hours straight. (You can laugh now). There is SO much great info here. wow.

I need a workflow plan complete with settings tweaks so that I can capture and process the shoot efficiently now...without wrecking the shots...and so that I can resume learning over the weeks/months/years to come.