Options

What program should I purchase?

Leigh0190Leigh0190 Registered Users Posts: 36 Big grins
edited August 18, 2007 in Finishing School
I am pretty new to all of this and only have a really old version of photoshop elements. I don't really even know how to use that very well, but have someone that is willing to teach me. I am ready to buy a professional program, but would appreciate advice on what to buy and how, other than the manual to learn it?

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    greenpeagreenpea Registered Users Posts: 880 Major grins
    edited August 17, 2007
    Leigh0190 wrote:
    I am pretty new to all of this and only have a really old version of photoshop elements. I don't really even know how to use that very well, but have someone that is willing to teach me. I am ready to buy a professional program, but would appreciate advice on what to buy and how, other than the manual to learn it?

Thanks!

my .02...

If your new to all of this, then consider spending $100 and getting Photoshop Elements 5 (for a PC) or Photoshop Elements 4 (for a Mac), and then get Scott Kelby's "Photoshop Elements 4 Book for Digital Photographers" or "Photoshop Elements 5 Book for Digital Photographers".

Photoshop CS3 has a steep learning curve and isn't that user friendly. If you don't know why you need Photoshop CS3, then its hard to justify the $630+ you would pay for it.
    Andrew
    initialphotography.smugmug.com

"The camera is an instrument that teaches people how to see without a camera" - Dorothea Lange
  • Options
    edited August 17, 2007
    Thanks for the advice! I am not to great at manuals but will give it a try. Also, in photoshop elements can you do things like fix acne, stray hairs, black and white w/ color showing through, etc.?