Would love some feedback on some people pics...

JuliaJulia Registered Users Posts: 157 Major grins
edited September 18, 2007 in People
Hi all! :wave

First post in these forums. I'm an amateur who shoots for fun. I tend to be best with pet photography and landscapes, but I seem to have bypassed how to take good pics of humans. :rofl

My friends are always donating their children as subjects for me to practice on, but I have no idea how I'm doing. A lot of times, perfect lighting seems to elude me and I worry about my skin tone representation.

I ask now because I've got another friend who has asked me to do a session with her, and I'm quite nervous at the thought of blowing it!

Constructive criticism is most welcome so I can learn where my weaknesses are and what I need to work on and remember... I'm shooting with a Canon XT and switch between a 50mm f/1.4 and my 28-135mm IS most often... I've got a 430ex flash and lightsphere, but like I said, lighting is something I really need to work on and learn more about.

178286483-S.jpg

178287119-S.jpg

#3 (I blew this one out royally but his mom absolutely LOVES it!)
179723033-S.jpg

#4 (would be better if his hand was in focus, right?)
178289765-S.jpg

178289791-S.jpg

171609255-M-1.jpg

171609416-M-1.jpg

151632413-S-3.jpg

#9 (her skin tone was very orangey... I had a heck of a time trying to adjust these.)
155716095-S-2.jpg

Any thoughts are most welcome. :D

Julia

Comments

• geminiphotosgeminiphotos Registered Users Posts: 35 Big grins
    edited August 21, 2007
    Julia,
    Great work! I like them all! #1 has nice blur on the background; Remember, though, our eyes move toward red.
    2 and 3 are just fantastic., I like the blow out on 3. it works!
    4. No; the hand out of focus is great. you want to direct the viewers eyes, so if the hand was in focus, our eyes may go there. Controlling depth of field is very important, and the 50MM1.4 has great bokeh (remember, nearest eye in focus, all else ok..:-)