C&C Please

GreensquaredGreensquared Registered Users Posts: 2,115 Major grins
edited August 23, 2007 in The Dgrin Challenges
Hi all,

So here's my entry for LPS #11. I'd love to have input on how this photo could be made better. I truly appreciate your time and effort!

Emily

186313882-L.jpg
Emily
Psalm 62:5-6

Comments

• pyroPrints.compyroPrints.com Registered Users Posts: 1,383 Major grins
    edited August 21, 2007
    I like it, but it's not very crisp. You shot it using a tripod? I'm no pro by any means, but I would try shooting this at 100 ISO and f/8.0 instead of f/4.0, and make sure your focus is right.
    pyroPrints.com (my little t-shirt shop)
    pyroPrints.com/5819572 The Photo Section
  • GreensquaredGreensquared Registered Users Posts: 2,115 Major grins
    edited August 21, 2007
    I like it, but it's not very crisp. You shot it using a tripod? I'm no pro by any means, but I would try shooting this at 100 ISO and f/8.0 instead of f/4.0, and make sure your focus is right.

Really? I had read it was better to shoot as wide open as possible for landscapes for clarity. Guess not??
    Emily

edited August 21, 2007
    Really? I had read it was better to shoot as wide open as possible for landscapes for clarity. Guess not??

I'm not a pro like I said before. Any of the pros would like to set us straight on this issue?
  • Pat664422Pat664422 Registered Users Posts: 225 Major grins
    edited August 21, 2007
    I'm not a pro, but I've read several times that depth of field is shorted with wide aperature and increases with a narrow aperature.

From wikipedia:

"For a given subject framing, the DOF is controlled by the lens f-number. Increasing the f-number (reducing the aperture diameter) increases the DOF"

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Depth_of_field

There are also pictures taken of the same subject at different aperatures for illustration.