Options

Does he have what it takes...

sardellisardelli Registered Users Posts: 6 Beginner grinner
edited August 27, 2007 in Mind Your Own Business
OK, I'm an IT person by profession but I'm starting to do some professional portrait and wedding work. I feel like I've pretty much run the course in IT and I'm coasting, making a good living off my 15+ years of experience. But I am frankly bored. So I keep flirting with the idea of earnestly trying to do photography full time (realizing it may take 3 or more years to build up the reputation, client base, etc). So I ask you all, what does it take to make it professionally doing social photography (portraits, events, weddings)? What skills, personal talents (besides the obvious), character qualities, etc. I'm trying to keep this question as open as possible.

Bob

Comments

• Options
    ShepsMomShepsMom Registered Users Posts: 4,319 Major grins
    edited August 23, 2007
    I just recently got interested in doing something more serious then just snapping. I've been snapping for years, but i want to take it to the next level. I think ones you start experimenting and shooting everything and take your camera everywhere you go, you will realize how addicting it becomes. You will discover totally different world, you will see something that no one else might see, especially people who have no clue about photography. You will find your nitch and what interest you the most, what is your passion? I was somewhat interested in wild life and still do, but i find myself progressing to people photography, i find it simply amazing about discoveries people emotions, the simplicity andcomplications of it, and much much more. So pick up your camera and start shooting. thumb.gif