Options

New Camera Advice, Time to Settle Down

TrentTrent Registered Users Posts: 26 Big grins
edited August 28, 2007 in Cameras
Hi all,

I've finally decided to buy a new camera. I have been thinking about it for about a year. Ever since my old camera got destroyed floating down a river in Lao, I've been a bit of a camera slut, and borrowing everyone else’s. Its time for me to settle down again :lust

I'm an enthusiastic amateur. I usually take landscape photography, but find myself getting more into sports photography. At some stage I would like to do portraiture, stock photography; and maybe some photo journalism.

I've definitely decided on a digital SLR, and am pretty much sold on the cannon line. I have tried both Nikon and Cannon mid range amateur SLR's. I find the Nikon easier to use, but I prefer the large market share that Cannon has.

For my price range and ability level I think the 30D range is the right one for me. The new 40D has just come out, and I'm not sure if the extra dollars in my position is worth it or not. What do you think? Do I get the 30D and be behind the 8 ball straight away? Or do I wait one painful month until the 40D becomes available?

Where to buy from? I live in Australia so I don't have the best prices available to me. I've checked the local prices, and the best I've got for the 30D, without haggling, is $1500AUD. How lower could I get this price?

If I order from an online store in the states I can get the 30D for $1200AUD (no GST). I have a relative to post on any gear, if getting it posted to Australia is too difficult. Is there any warranty issues I should be concerned about ordering from the states? What about postal insurance issues?