On or Off, & which one... R1800 ?

billyshobbybillyshobby Registered Users Posts: 10 Big grins
edited August 28, 2007 in Digital Darkroom
Hi guys, might sound stupid by the more i read about this the more confuse i' in.

Got an epson R1800 for half a year now, should i keep it on all the time? or is it better to off it while not in use. i know i should print something every once a week and i did.
Not that my printer has any problem but just like to keep it in good condition always.
One more thing, if i where to off the printer, should i off from the printer switch or main wall switch and leave the printer switch to on. Read somewhere that the best way is to park the print head in some position, but which one i'm dying to know.

Please help a novice here, thanks.

Billy the kid.

Comments

• cabbeycabbey Registered Users Posts: 1,053 Major grins
    edited August 28, 2007
    Disclaimer: I've never touched that model of printer, so my answer is "generic".

Most printers take some amount of energy to "wake up" and be ready to print. They also take some energy to just sit there waiting for you to print. If you're not printing every couple minutes, it's probably better for you from an energy usage perspective to power it off when not in use. And all electronics should be shut off from their own power switch, unless instructed otherwise in the manual. (hint: very very few pieces of consumer electronics tell you to use an external switch.) This is especially true on any thing that has to shut down and get ready for inaction like many printers do. You can test this by just turning it off from it's own switch/button... however the manual says to... and then looking/listening... do you hear it moving around? do you see lights blinking? Is there ANY indication that it's doing anything? If so, then those external switches really aren't a good idea.