Scenery in Seward, Alaska

heatherfeatherheatherfeather Registered Users Posts: 2,738 Major grins
edited May 16, 2008 in Landscapes
My husband and I just had our 10th anneversary this weekend and spent most of a week down in Seward Alaska. Let me just say that though I live in Alaska, it was a blast to get out and see other environments within a couple hundred miles. Anyway, here are some of the shots I got during our fabulous week. Hope you like them and if you don't tell me so and why. I like a good critique!
BTW, this is my first time posting outside of the "people" category!
1. on the beach: (a little noisy, I didn't have time to run and get my flash and it was close to dark)
190061018-M.jpg
2. Spawned out salmon. (They are everywhere this time of year. There must have been 30 within just a couple of yards.) The seagulls already got to his eyes.
190060536-M.jpg
3. The view from "our lake" We rented a little awesome cabin right on the shores of Kenai lake and man was it beautiful. One morning during breakfast, as though our view wasn't good enough a bald eagle soared by right on the water line. Pretty amazing!

You can see the standing dead trees in the water. We surmise that they are some of the trees killed in the big earthquake in 1964 when the ground sunk 10 - 15 feet. There was lots of dead trees standing and fallen around the lake and driftwood everywhere. This lake is the spawning grounds of all the big kenai river king salmon. Yummie.
190065118-M.jpg
4. On the way to meet some friends for breakfast we were in road construction traffic. This shot was taken from inside the car through an open window over my husbands shoulder and the steering wheel. One of those can't stop, but my- how lovely.
190070966-M.jpg
5. I just love the monocrome colors of the next shot. 189938600-M.jpg

Well folks! thanks for looking! I hope that all of you have a chance some day to come to Seward, it was so beautiful!