Options

Celebration...and Freak-Out

LlywellynLlywellyn Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 3,186 Major grins
edited September 5, 2007 in Mind Your Own Business
Well, I just took down my first solo show today. I had it hanging all of August in a local coffeeshop, and I sold nine prints! :barb I consider myself a complete noob, so I am so ecstatic that so many of my prints actually sold. And of the 1,000 business cards I kept there (courtesy of Overnight Prints, which did a great job) only 50 remain. :huh I couldn't believe that kind of traffic went through there. And I've made arrangements with the owner for another show next year. Woo-hoo! :ivar

Amid all this awesomeness, I've been contacted by the president of a local creative marketing firm. We met at the coffeeshop and will be meeting again next week to discuss my possibly doing some product photography for his clients to go in brochures, web sites, etc., his company produces. Their web site is incredible, and the design style fits very well with what I like and produce. Okay, artistic hurdle jumped. :D

However, I am a noob. I will be going out to buy the Shay-recommended book on pricing so I can get my feet wet deciding how best to set up pricing for something like this. After my conversation Tuesday, I should have a better idea what I can put together price-wise for him. The bigger problem is...what should I ask come Tuesday?

He has specifically mentioned food photography to me. I felt I could handle this (sans elaborate food styling) because, well, food doesn't move (at least, I hope it doesn't...otherwise, I won't be eating at any of the restaurants he helps advertise). What are some things I should have in mind when I go to this meeting? As I've never worked with a client before (other than selling a single print) or photographed food, I was hoping the community here could give me some pointers or direction. :wink