A few questions for the tilt-shift / panorama experts on dgrin

Picture North CarolinaPicture North Carolina Registered Users Posts: 85 Big grins
edited September 13, 2007 in Cameras
Hi. I'm new to dgrin, this being my 1st post. I hope it's not bad manners to come flying in the door with a bunch of questions, but I'm led to believe this is where answers can be found. I've done a bunch of research lately and many referrals come back to dgrin. From what I can tell, there seems to be an unusually large ratio of people here who are knowledgeable about tilt-shift and related issues. So here goes.

1. Will the T/S lenses work well on the 5D? I can find no definitive answer on this. Some say they work just fine, but on the other hand I've found many items that say the AA filter on the 5D and the T/S lenses do not like each other very much. If anybody is actually using the lenses with a 5D, I would appreciate some advice. As a secondary issue, I also have some aps-c sensor cameras and wonder if they will work well there (20D, 30D).

2. Parallax. I've read that contrary to common belief, the T/S lenses do not solve the parallax problem. That it still exists and to resolve it, the T/S lens should be mounted on a bracket so that when the lens is shifted in one direction, the camera should be equally shifted in the opposite. Is this true that the T/S lenses still suffer parallax problems?

3. Nodal point. I've read that a good answer is to mount the camera in such a way that it can be rotated on a given lens's calculated nodal point. Is this true? Unfortunately, I cannot find many resources for this (brackets, tripod heads, etc.). For what I want to do, this may be a better answer than a T/S lens.

Primarily, I will be shooting the usual T/S-oriented things such as panoramas, architecture, etc.. But also, I have a need to shoot close objects (2 or 3 feet away), multiple frames (2 or 3 hopefully nice flat planes) and stitch those together.